3-11

Well it has been one year since an earthquake and tsunami devastated parts of Japan, including a nuclear power plant, killing thousands and leaving countless more without homes and in fear of atomic energy. It is events like this that often wake up the collective consciousness of the human race and, if only for a brief moment, allows us to take a deeper look at our lives and the choices we make.

It was one year ago this day that I was packing my bags and about to embark on my journey as a bonsai apprentice. After watching the news and learning what had happened in Japan, I decided to postpone my plans. Especially after hearing about the danger of the nuclear power plant and extent of radiation leakage, I was left sitting in front of the TV wondering if this was a sign and if my intent on being an apprentice was the right choice. I was given a moment extra to reevaluate my life. After all was said and done, I felt confident that my set course was the right one. I am still sure of that to this day! But even one year later, there are events out there, both big and small, that keep me on my toes and act as a constant reminder to take a moment and pause. Constantly reevaluate your life and ask yourself if you are happy with it, if not, do something about it!

Today we had such an event at the nursery…

Notice the number on the front plate....a reminder, a sign, coincidence...

Apparently two cars had trouble passing through one another at an intersection to the back of our nursery. One car was T-boned and pushed into the gate and fence where we turn on and off our nursery’s security system. The car really made a dent in the metal fencing and completely knocked down the back gate. Luckily none of the drivers were hurt and no bonsai were damaged in the process. But as I sat down this evening having a drink and looking back at the pictures, I saw the license plate reading  3 11. WOW!

They just couldn't wait for the nursery to open!

What a way to start the day, guess somebody forgot their morning coffee.

After to police made the report and both cars were moved away, we had a local carpenter come to put up a temporary fence. The rest of the day was fairly uneventful, but we all were looking over our shoulders from now and then. We kept saying that today was dangerous, be careful!

Later on in the day, Oyakata had Yusuke and me go to the crash site and pour salt, rice, water and sake on the ground. Apparently this act helps ward away the ‘spirit’ or ‘ora’ of something or someone in hopes that it will not return. I hope it worked!

Yusuke spreading rice and salt around crash site.

Here I am spreading water and sake around the crash site.

After we did this I told Yusuke that we might come back tomorrow to find some drunken birds with bellies full of rice lying around the nursery! Hope this trick works, but only time will tell.

On a more upbeat note, my good friend Peter Tea who has been chronicling his life as an apprentice at Achie-en has finished up his first year. We both began our apprenticeships around the same time and we often chat with one another swapping our war stories. He is now back home on a short vacation (years in apprentice time) visiting his family and somehow finding time to work in a little bonsai. Please check out his latest post, http://peterteabonsai.wordpress.com/2012/03/11/going-home-oh-sweet-freedom/  talking about this past year as well as some of the events where he’ll be demonstrating at while home. Congratulations Peter!

As always, thanks for visiting!

This entry was posted in Around the Nursery. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 3-11

  1. Frank says:

    Do they have the lottery over there? I would play that number for sure 3 11

    • tylersherrod says:

      Frank, that would have been a great idea. They do have the lottery over here, but I haven’t played it yet. Most of my money has gone toward bonsai pots. Thanks!

  2. Jeremiah Lee says:

    Wow, that is a trip! Thank you for following that set course. Hope the nursery isn’t too negatively impacted in the long run from this. Best of luck to you all!

Be Heard! Please Leave Your Comments Here

