A Few Before and Afters

In my last post I said I would have more posts soon and now it has been over 2 months. I am very sorry its has been so long since, but it has been very busy lately around the nursery. In this post I am going to get right to the point without much explaining. Here are a few trees that I have wired recently.

An akamatsu before wiring

This akamatsu, or red pine, was the first tree that I had completely wired in some time, so it was like getting back on a bike after not having rode one in a while. Some of the wire I put on was too weak and others were too strong. Some of my wiring lines were too tightly coiled together while others were too far apart. I corrected all my mistakes and by the time I was finished I felt my wiring skills were back on track. Good thing because Oyakata gave me a few more trees to wire soon after this one!

Akamatsu after wiring

This tree was bought at an auction so after I finished we placed this tree along with a few others that were for sale in an outdoor display area. While Matt and I were setting the displays, Yusuke slipped away and made an accent plant, one of his favorite activities, both slipping away and making accent plants! I’m not sure of the name of the flower.

Akamatsu displayed with accent plant

Next up was a white pine. Before I began working on this tree Oyakata told me that it was a really nice tree and that it had just regained its health this year, so I was to make sure I did a really good job with it. No pressure!

Goyomatsu before wiring

Goyomatsu after wiring and on display

Again for this tree I pulled most everything down, separating pads and make the overall shape more compact. Oyakata didn’t make any adjustments and said I did a good job, but I did have some help from my sempai Matt, that always helps! My main issues was getting the apex as compressed as it needed to be, but with a little advise from Matt, I believe it turned out well. What do you think?

Shimpaku before being worked

This shimpaku came from the same auction the akamatsu came from and I was given the task of cleaning it up and getting everything back into shape. Overall the tree didn’t need a whole lot of wiring. Mainly pulling a few of the larger branches down and a few detail wiring here and there to clean the lines up and get wild branches back into shape. I also pinched back long shoots and did a little thinning to allow light to reach interior branches.

Shimpaku after

Again this tree was placed in an outdoor display area with hopes that a client would fall in love with it and can couldn’t live without having it in his or her collection!

Shimpaku on display

Last for today’s post, another juniper. This material was brought in by a client to be wired. It had grown out quite a bit and was ready to get into shape.

Wild and crazy shimpaku before wiring

I began by cleaning out the dead needles and unnecessary needles in preparation for wiring. I then cleaned the deadwood with a power washer. I also pulled out the power tools and smoothed a bit of the deadwood that was rough and showed tool marks from previously having been carved.  Next step was to apply raffia to the lower left branch and add a piece of rebar which would provide an anchor point for guy wiring down the branch. Then on to wiring beginning with larger wire first.

Shimpaku after work. Notice Matt in awe of my amazing work!

In my opinion this tree is not the best piece of material in the world, but it’s part of the job working on what comes through the door and doing the best job on it as you can. I believe I accomplished this.

Hoped you enjoyed reading the post. Again sorry I have been slow on getting another post up, but I will try to keep them coming often. Thank you for visiting!

This entry was posted in Before and After. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Few Before and Afters

  1. bonsai eejit says:

    All posts from those who are apprentices in Japan start the same way, “I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a while”. 🙂 Not surprising really when you see just how busy you have been. It’s great to read what you have to say about each tree. I’m also happy to just look at photos if that makes posting more often easier 🙂 Great work, thanks for finding the time to post.

    Regards

    Ian

    • tylersherrod says:

      Thanks Ian! Yeah after the long days it can be a little tough to get the motivation to sit down and make posts. I did try to just post pictures only, but then I start talking about them and before I know it the word count adds up. But I enjoy it so it’s good. Thanks for keeping up with me!

  2. Jeremiah Lee says:

    Your posts are always great appreciated, great job! So How’s your Japanese coming along? Are you allowed to speak English inside the nursery? Thanks

    • tylersherrod says:

      Thanks Jeremiah! My japanese is comming along slow, but i’m keeping at it. I mainly speak english with Matt and Yusuke, but Oyakata only speaks in japanese so I must do the same back. I also have met alot of locals that I try and speak a mixture of japanese and english. Hopefully this time next year I will be much better with it. It just takes time. Thanks for checking me out!

  3. Barry McDonnell says:

    Tyler, nice pictures and commentary to boot. Thanks for posting them. Can’t help but notice how neat and trim the facilities are in your pictures. That may account for some of the time spent between posts.

    • tylersherrod says:

      Thanks you Barry! We spend the first hour or so every day cleaning the nursery and are constantly keeping things tidy throughout the day. I have learned here that a beautiful nursery helps clients appreciate the bonsai more, something that I will continue at my own place when I return home. Thanks for the comment!

  4. Mark Leija says:

    How do you attach the re-bar? I’ve always wanted to see how this is done since I am in need of doing this myself.

    -Mark

    • tylersherrod says:

      That’s a great question and it is fairly easy. I will make that the subject of a post asap! Hopefully pictures will help you do this on your own trees when needed! Thanks Mark!

  5. Tom says:

    That shimp from the auction is incredible. Great material over there, keep the posts coming.

Be Heard! Please Leave Your Comments Here

