Wiring Red Pine

Last week Oyakata game me this bunjin red pine to wire. It had previously been wired, but now needed more to refine the shape. It had been decandled earlier this summer and a new flush of buds have appeared.

Before

My first task was to find the front of the tree. This was not to difficult, I choose what I thought to be the best view of the movement in the trunk. Then I guy wired a few branches. This picture was taken after I had guy wired the apex and lowest branch. The apex was pulled in closer to the trunk and the lowest branch was slightly pulled up and toward the trunk. I then proceeded to wire the branches beginning with the larger wire on larger branches, then smaller wire on smaller branches. I then move the branches to the position I wanted them. After I was satisfied with my work, Oyakata checked the tree. He made a few corrections to the lowest branch, separating it into two pads rather than one. He also made a few adjustments to other branches and had me wire a few that I had not.

After

 It had been some time since in had completely wired a tree so it took me a bit to get back into the swing of things, but overall I felt the tree came out nicely!

A few days later this red pine came into the nursery and I was given the task of wiring it as well.

Before

 The process was the same as the first red pine. I began with guy wires, then wiring larger branches and working my way to the smaller ones. I then moved the branches into the position I wanted them. Oyakata checked my work making a few adjustments here and there, but nothing major. We discussed the front of the tree. At first glance I felt that the reverse side, or the current back, made for a more interesting front, but this would take changing the angle of the tree and major moving of some branches. Oyakata agreed, but his idea was to keep refining the current design and hopefully sell the tree as soon as possible. Many times this can be the case in the bonsai business.

Maybe a little difficult to see, this is the back of the tree. I feel it could make a better front in the long run.

 Here is a picture of the red pine after I wired and moved the branches.

After

It feels good to have that wire bending under my fingers again. Stay tuned for more and thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Before and After. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wiring Red Pine

  1. John Kirby says:

    Excellent! Good to see the fine work that you are doing!

  2. jcb says:

    looks great

  3. Bonsai Eejit says:

    I don’t have access to JRP. Is it true that they are brittle compared to Black Pine? Heard a few horror stories!! 🙂

  4. David says:

    Good job you did!
    i love red pines…
    David

  5. Kenny says:

    Tyler, thanks for the post. A job well done indeed!

  6. Trip wheeler says:

    Great work. Looking forward to having you back in Charlotte. Trip

Be Heard! Please Leave Your Comments Here

